Monday, July 9, 2012

Hip-hip hooray, Hershey’s announces their gluten-free array!

I recently found an article printed in a Triumph Dining blog that announces some good news for those of you who are gluten-free with a chocolate addiction! For the original article, click here. However, here is the story:

For all you gluten-free individuals out there who might be chocolate-covered bakers, sweet-tooth suckers and/or dessert devotees, you’re probably going to enjoy this long-awaited bit of news from Hershey’s. Indefinitely, Hershey’s has recited their “Check the Label” mantra to gluten-sensitive consumers, but, as of a few days ago, they have virtually been able to put that bulletin to rest. Though, for an ultra-safe measure, they still recommend a quick checking.
Finally, feast your eyes on the list of Hershey’s gluten-free products that they nicely assembled for the gluten-free community. MmmMmmMmmm! Butterscotch baking chips, Almond Joys, York Peppermint Patties, dark chocolate syrups…. the whole nine yards! Please do keep in mind, not all of Hershey’s candies are gluten-free and an assortment of their seasonal sweets contain gluten ingredients – like their seasonal-shaped Reese’s peanut butter cups.
Here’s to a more feasible indulgence of gluten-free sweets!

Also, Hershey’s recently went on the record to issue a press release to clear up the water about the relationship between their index of products and the gluten-free standards defined by the FDA. Below is the printed disclosure that you can find on their website regarding which Hershey’s products are qualified, by FDA standards, to be labeled gluten-free.
“Hershey is committed to providing products that meet your dietary needs, and many people today are interested in gluten-free foods.
A food bearing a gluten-free claim does not contain the protein from wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticole, farina, vital gluten semolina, malt vinegar or protein derivatives of these foods.

For your convenience, the current products listed below have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten free using standards proposed by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
Please note this list is not all inclusive as we have other gluten-free confections. The best way to determine if our products contain a gluten ingredient is to read our product label. This label includes an accurate, current listing of the ingredients in our products. Because, on occasion, the list of ingredients can change, we strongly encourage you to check the ingredient label on the package each time before you make a purchase.”

No comments:

Post a Comment